Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021: Jharkhand Post 422/9 vs Madhya Pradesh, Register Highest Score In Tournament History | Cricket News


With the help of Ishan Kishan’s 173-run knock, Jharkhand on Saturday posted the highest team score in the history of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The side achieved the feat in the ongoing match against Madhya Pradesh in Indore. Kishan-led Jharkhand posted a total of 422/9 in the allotted fifty overs. The previous best team score was 412/6 registered by Madhya Pradesh against Railways way back in 2010. Kishan put on a sensational batting performance against Madhya Pradesh, smashing 173 runs in just 94 balls studded with 11 sixes in the Elite Group B match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Saturday.

Ishan whacked five sixes and 12 fours to bring up 102 runs in just 74 balls before unleashing the beast within himself.

In the last 20 balls he faced, the Jharkhand skipper slammed 71 runs as the side crossed the 200-run mark in the 26th over. This knock of Kishan is also the third-highest individual score registered by wicketkeeper-captain in the history of List-A cricket.

Apart from Kishan, Anukul Roy also chipped in with a knock of 72 runs while Sumit Kumar scored 52.

Jharkhand lost two wickets within 20 overs but there was no stopping Ishan in going out all guns blazing on Madhya Pradesh’s bowling attack. The Parth Sahani-led side finally took a sigh of relief when Gaurav Yadav dismissed Ishan in the 28th over but till then Jharkhand had put on 240 runs on the board.

Vijay Hazare Trophy, the domestic one-day competition in India, kicked off on Saturday with players looking to get back on the field after shining in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The tournament will also act as the perfect platform for the players who are looking to showcase their skills in the white-ball format ahead of the ODI series against England, keeping in mind the T20 World Cup is scheduled later this year.

Shreyas Iyer is leading Mumbai while Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be captaining Uttar Pradesh in the upcoming tournament. Shreyas did not have a good run in the ODI series against Australia while Kumar has been out of the side due to injury. Both the cricketers will look to impress the selectors ahead of the white-ball series against England.

The sides have been divided into six Elite A, B, C, D, E, and the Plate Group. The Plate Group’s matches will be played across the different locations in Tamil Nadu while the Elite Groups’ games will be held in Surat, Indore, Bengaluru, Jaipur, and Kolkata respectively.


Last year’s runners-up Tamil Nadu, who won the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy champions in January are in Group B while defending champions Karnataka are in Group C.

The quarter-final will be played on March 8 and 9 respectively, while the semi-final will take place on March 11. The final match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy is scheduled for March 14.

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link