BCCI Announces Schedule For 2021-22 Domestic Season, 2127 Matches To Be Played | Cricket News


The BCCI announced schedule for India’s domestic season for 2021-22.© AFP

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Saturday announced the schedule for the upcoming 2021-22 domestic season. The domestic season will kick start with Women’s One Day League, beginning September 21 this year. India’s domestic Twenty20 league — Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy — will begin on October 20 with the final to be played on November 12. BCCI in its media statement also said the Ranji Trophy will be played in a three-month window from November 2021 to February 2022.

“The coveted Ranji Trophy, which was cancelled last season due to the COVID-19 pandemic, will be played in a three-month window from November 16, 2021 to February 19, 2022,” the statement read.

The 50-over domestic league — Vijay Hazare Trophy — will start in February next year.

“The Vijay Hazare Trophy will take place from February 23, 2022 to March 26, 2022,” the BCCI said.

A total of 2127 matches will be played throughout the 2021-22 domestic season across all men’s and women’s age groups.


BCCI expressed confidence in making the domestic season a success while keeping health and safety of everyone as their main priority.

“The BCCI is confident of hosting the domestic season with health and safety of players and all people involved being paramount,” the statement read.

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link